Does Your Council Qualify for the Council Standards of Venturing Excellence Award?

The Council Standards of Venturing Excellence Award is presented by the BSA National Council to each council that completes the requirements during the calendar year. Originally started by the Central Region to recognize their growth in Venturing, it is now available to all local councils with qualifying Venturing programs.

Each council should be evaluating their Venturing program to see if they are close to qualifying. To receive the award, the council must have a Venturing officers’ association, complete all 12 of the core requirements, and complete five of the nine electives for the award. Once these requirements are met, the council should fill out the nomination form, acquire all of the necessary signatures, and send it to:

Boy Scouts of America
SUM 209
1325 W. Walnut Hill Lane
P.O. Box 152079
Irving, TX 75015-2079

If your council completes the requirements, it will be recognized at the Venturing reception at the National Annual Meeting with a framed certificate and be listed on the national and regional Venturing websites. We hope to see many councils receive this recognition at the 2013 National Annual Meeting in Grapevine, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>