Council Operations Breakfast Club Becomes ‘Mission Delivery Leadership Club’

Please join us on Wednesday, Dec. 5, for the next episode of the newly re-branded Council Operations Breakfast Club—a monthly conversation with those responsible for the successful delivery of the BSA’s mission through support of councils and units.

Now in its fourth year, the monthly event was originally developed as a conference call to address timely topics with professional leadership in each council. Conference call limitations have restricted the audience to professional leadership. Beginning last month, however, we switched from a monthly conference call to a successful live streaming Internet experience that provides unlimited participation.

Going forward, we are excited to rebrand the Breakfast Club to the “Mission Delivery Leadership Club” and encourage both employees and volunteers to join in each month as we continue to discuss current topics that focus on optimizing the delivery of the Scouting experience through councils and units.

Topics for this month’s Leadership Club meeting include a discussion on how to improve your JTE advancement scores. Advancement continues to be one of the strongest indicators for driving retention!

Our second topic will focus on council financial health, with a discussion on the overall financial strategy for councils, the PeopleSoft fiscal conversion, and the role of the finance volunteers at the council and area levels.

The third segment will continue our series to focus on councils that have successfully demonstrated over time their ability to provide a quality Scouting experience to an ever-increasing youth membership. This month we will feature the Bay Area Council in Galveston, Texas, which has now had 39 consecutive months of traditional growth and membership retention.

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 5. See session times below:
Session 1           8 a.m. EST     7 a.m. CST       6 a.m. MST      5 a.m. PST
Session 2         10 a.m. EST     9 a.m. CST       8 a.m. MST      7 a.m. PST

Please email your session preference to Mary Jernigan. Note: Participants may join either session.

The first Leadership Club meeting in 2013 will be held Jan. 2.

To access the video stream of the broadcast, see directions below.

Note: There are no audio connections via dial-in bridge for this session. Please select from one of the following three methods to join the meeting. Should you need technical assistance, please contact the National Support Center at 877-272-1910 or x2330 (inside the National Council).

You will need to prepare your iPhone and/or PC to join the meeting. iPads are already compatible and very simple to connect with. Once you have taken time to prepare your computer and/or iPhone, you will be able to set your preferences, set up reminders for future meetings, and browse through the BSA National Council video-stream library of earlier events.

The name of the upcoming event will be:  Mission Delivery Leadership Club 12-5-2012

You can click the RSVP button on the channel page and we will email you just before the start of the scheduled broadcast.

Preparing your computer to connect to the meeting:

  1. Open any of the following browsers:
  • Internet Explorer 9
  • Safari
  • Firefox
  • Chrome

2. In the search bar enter www.livestream.com/bsanationalcouncil

Note: Be sure you have the most up-to-date version of Flash installed on your computer. To update your Flash reader, visit: get.adobe.com/flashplayer/?promoid=JOPDD

Preparing your iPhone to connect to the meeting:

  1. Go to the App Store on your iPhone and search for the “Livestream” app.
  2. Download the Livestream app to your mobile device.
  3. Once installed on your iPhone, open the app and search for the channel “bsanationalcouncil.”
  4. Click on the channel. In the top right-hand corner of the screen, you will see a curved arrow. Click on the arrow and choose “Follow” from the options listed.

This will allow your app to notify you each time the channel goes live!  When notified, simply click on the notification to join the broadcast, or launch the app and click on the channel in your followed channels.

Preparing your iPad to connect to the meeting:

Prior to the meeting, follow these steps to test the link:

  1. Open Safari
  2. Head to www.livestream.com/bsanationalcouncil to ensure the event is listed.
  3. There should be no issue connecting in this manner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>