JTE Leadership Club: BSA Training in its Second Century

“Success in training the boy depends largely on the Scoutmaster’s own personal example.” — Robert Baden-Powell

What better quote than this one to introduce the April 10 JTE Leadership Club topic: BSA Training in its Second Century? We will discuss the impact of effective training on retention, how successful training councils have reached 90 percent or more trained leaders, Youth Protection training, and where we are—and where we are going—in training and learning. Our guests will be the chair of the national Volunteer Training Committee, Joel Eacker; and Volunteer Development Team Leader Mark Griffin; along with several volunteers from selected best practice councils.

Training is evolving in the BSA. We will close our hour by sharing a vision of the future of training and will unveil perhaps one of the most transformational projects currently in the design stage. Be part of that vision as we lead an interactive segment encouraging feedback from participants as the BSA develops itself into a 21st century learning organization.

We encourage both employees and volunteers to join in each month as we continue to discuss current topics that focus on optimizing the delivery of the Scouting experience through councils and units.

We will broadcast one session in the morning beginning at 9 a.m. CDT and one in the evening beginning at 7 p.m. CDT. We will again be “live streaming” from the second-floor Web conference center at the national office.

The meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, April 10. See session times below:

Session 1 — 10 a.m. EDT, 9 a.m. CDT, 8 a.m. MDT, 7 a.m. PDT

Session 2 — 8 p.m. EDT, 7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT

Please email your session preference to Mary Jernigan. NOTE: Participants may join either session.

The next JTE Leadership Club Meeting will be May 1.

Connection instructions are available in a previous issue of Scout Wire. (Click the link and scroll to the bottom of the story.)

One Response to JTE Leadership Club: BSA Training in its Second Century

  1. Tim Roers says:

    Sign me up for session 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>